I promised

Dear Blake,

I promised I wouldn’t write about how you’re still sick.

I promised I would write about Spring time instead.

I promised I wouldn’t write about how we almost took you to the ER last night.

I promised I wouldn’t  write about how you couldn’t keep any liquids or food down at all yesterday.  At all.

I promised I wouldn’t write about how we tried to put you to bed and you kept waking up so sick for hours.

I promised I wouldn’t write about how I called the doctor real late last night so that they couldn’t tell me what to do.

I promised I wouldn’t write about how you finally fell asleep but I stayed up all night watching the monitor.

I promised I wouldn’t write about how you woke up and begged me to stay home with you.

I promised I wouldn’t write about how you threw up again this morning and Dadda is staying home with you and taking you to the doctor for the fourth time.

I promised I wouldn’t write about all this so that maybe you might get better.

So I won’t write about it.

I’ll write about Spring time instead.

Love,

Mama

8 thoughts on “I promised

  1. Poor little Blake! It’s so hard when they’re not feeling well. We have no control over it and it’s so darn hard! Hopefully Blake will be feeling better soon !!

  2. Clever little style on a piece so hard to write about. I can feel your exhaustion and pain through your words. Tonight will be better. The sun is shinning today, Spring is inching closer, and tonight will be better!!

  3. Awww, I hope that sweet Blake is better soon. Thinking of you all especially Mama. Not sure what is happening, but I have had sick babies in the hospital and it is the worst feeling. Big hugs.

  4. It’s the hardest thing as a parent to watch our child be ill and to not really be able to do anything to make it better. I hope Blake feels better soon and that you have time to relax your nerves.

  5. My heart breaks for you every time I read another day. I am so sorry. Our Abby had RSV and it is the worst. Daddy was persistent with the doctors until finally she was admitted to our local children’s hospital, CHKD. I hope Blake feels better soon so you can write about Spring and relax a bit.

Leave a Reply

