Sick day again

Dear Blake,

This whole weekend was spent inside the house with you sick.  Each day it got worse and worse.  I just felt so bad when you wouldn’t eat, coughed every 10 seconds, threw up, didn’t want to play, just wanted to lay in bed.  I really enjoyed taking care of you though and you snuggling me.  I was so worried about you, especially today.  I just couldn’t be ok with the doctor saying there was nothing they could do because it was a virus, so of course I didn’t know what to do on a Sunday when the doctor was closed.  We contemplated taking you to the immediate care, but I thought, I better wait, they probably won’t do anything.  It’s so hard to just be helpless and be ok with doing things around the house to make you feel better.  I wish I could just give you a medicine and have your pain be taken away.  I felt so bad when you said “Mama, I don’t feel good,” or “Dadda, help me.”  I swore at least 10 times today I thought, “That’s it, I’m taking him to the immediate care!”  But I held back.  I knew what they would say.  We tried many home remedies today so I’m just hoping that when you wake up you aren’t as bad.  Until then, I’ll just watch the baby monitor and hope that you are getting some rest.

Love,

Mama

5 thoughts on “Sick day again

  1. Sick days are difficult times. Hope your little guy gets better soon. I always smile at the header to your post, love that pic, and my firstborn is a Blake too!

  2. Oh man. It is so hard to have a sick baby. Try not to be hard on yourself and do something for yourself when he is resting. xoxo

  3. I’m so sorry Erin. I know exactly how you feel. Lily has not been as sick as she was a few days ago, but she’s still not eating and is having a lot of “after effects” of the illness. I thought about taking her in too! I never know what the right thing to do is! I hope he feels better really, really soon.

Leave a Reply

