Innocence

Dear Blake,

When we were at the park over the weekend, I couldn’t help but notice all the older kids that were there.  They are nice kids most of the time and are usually aware of the younger kids around them.  The kids that were at the park were still nice kids but I just took notice of how they were talking and what they were talking about.  Maybe it’s just because I’m “older” and a Mom now, but it seemed like these kids were a little too young to be talking about what they were talking about.  They were talking about violent and inappropriate TV shows that they watch, and things that other kids were talking to them about at school, and just the words they were using.  They seemed to have lost their innocence.  Their parents weren’t around and I just wondered if they knew that their children were talking about these things or do these things.

I just started to think about how you will be when you grow up.  I want to raise you to be a kind, helpful, respectful young man.  It’s so hard for me to believe that you might be talking about these TV shows or these things one day.  I know you’re only 2 1/2 but I still think about it.  I hope you keep your innocence as long as you can, but I also know I can’t shelter you from everything in this world.

I love you and I just want what’s best for you.

Love,

Mama

4 thoughts on “Innocence

  1. I hear you, Erin. Things have changed so much. Kids do not have the innocence they once did. I also hope I can raise Ava to be kind, respectful, and mindful of her decisions. We have a hard job.

  2. I think about this all the time, Erin. I sometimes think I keep Maddie too sheltered, but I don’t want her exposed to these kind of hooligans. (Just kidding, sort of.)

    The great thing is that you’ll have all these letters to give Blake when he’s older, and he’s sure to grow up to be a perfect gentleman.

  3. It is shocking the way kids and I mean young kids talk! And television shows- it’s amazing what my students would watch, all of them had Facebook accounts etc. and I worked in a K-5 building! I’m afraid to say I don’t believe parents are aware for what ever reason. But honestly it doesn’t mean they are bad just trying to figure out who they are.

Leave a Reply

