Just one of those days

Dear Blake,

Today is just one of those days.  When everything seems to go wrong.  Sometimes life happens that way but in the end it all works out.  I woke up this morning and it was the first day of a workday in our new rooms after the big move this weekend.  Already things were off because you woke up while I was getting ready and you went into the play room and realized it was now our room.  So I told you that you could go play in your new room while I get ready, but since there is no TV in there anymore, you didn’t like that because we couldn’t turn on Mickey Mouse.  We used to have a TV in the playroom because it was our loft, but now it has turned into your bedroom so we decided you should not have a TV in your bedroom.  The whole morning was thrown off.  You didn’t want to play in there with your toys, you only wanted Mickey Mouse.  I guess you’ll have to get used to that now.

Then it was time to leave and we left like normal, but I didn’t realize until I got to Papa and Gigi’s house that I had Dadda’s car keys in my purse.  Now he had no way to get to work until he could get a ride to the train.  I feel awful today!  My whole day is thrown off because I’m worried about Dadda.  He told me it is ok, he will still get to work but will have to go in early tomorrow to make up for the time.  Everything is fine, but I still feel awful.

Sometimes as a Mom there are so many things to think about.  I think I have everything ready to go and everything is ready for the day, but then I forget something.  Sometimes I think, how am I supposed to remember all this?  It’s too much.  But I do the best I can and I guess that’s all I can give sometimes.

Today was just one of those days.  Sometimes life happens that way, but in the end it all works out.

Love,

Mama

7 thoughts on “Just one of those days

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself, there’s A LOT to being a mom! It’s not perfection, it’s doing your best. and that you do!! You do a great job every day!

  2. On the other hand, you got up, you got you and baby out the door, you made it to Gigi’s, you realized your mistake and corrected it (It would’ve been terrible if Dada was looking all over for those keys), and you learned that Blake loves Mickey–a lot. You rocked the day, Mom! You think because it wasn’t smooth it wasn’t good. Think–“it wasn’t smooth, but you smoothed it over!” 🙂 Well done! Also, what a delightful blog–I’ve seen this done with an email account. I like the blog-style as well!

  3. This is such a lovely, ordinary ,one of those days moment you have captured so gently for your son. How lovely for him to read these notes when he is older. Just lovely. 🙂

  4. I hope your day got better. It’s true we have so much to think about sometimes we just need to stop. I forgot my lunch today :(. Hopefully the rest of this week is better.

  5. Some days are like that. I had one of those days and a student called it, “Ms. B’s Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” Thinking of it that way helped me get over it because it reminded me of Alexander. You are so right, there is way too much to remember!

Leave a Reply

