I feel guilty

Dear Blake,

I love days home with you like yesterday when I don’t have to work.  I have so many ideas of things we are going to do together.  Like:

We can go to the library

We can play ALL your toys

We can watch new movies

We can go out to lunch

We can read lots of books

We can do puzzles

But I always feel guilty when I have to do other things.  Like:

I have to do laundry

I have to do the dishes

I have to clean up the mess in the kitchen

I have to put things away

Don’t get me wrong, we did things together yesterday, but for once I just want to block everything out and not do anything else expect do everything you want to do all day long.  I want to block out all the chores and housework, and just not feel guilty, and spend every minute with you.  We will try again on my next day off.

Love,

Mama

7 thoughts on “I feel guilty

  1. Erin, I feel like this ALL THE TIME. Especially lately, when Mommy has been doing a lot of work on the computer. The best days are those days when I do block it all out – say “I don’t care” – and just spend the day with my girls. Do it next time. You won’t regret it.

  2. Dear Mama to Blake, we all struggle with that. Just keep in mind that those other things you have to do can maybe be done together or just get them done quickly and not perfectly. Those little ones are here for us to cherish – don’t get too hung up on the other things. Beautiful slice

  3. As I read this, I just kept thinking, “Someone understands!” The balance is tough, but I keep telling myself that our babies must know how much we love them, even when we are doing laundry.

  4. As I read this, I just kept thinking, “Someone else understands!” I just keep telling myself that our babies must know how deeply we love them, even when there’s laundry to be done.

  5. The ever present tug of war….what I have to do vs. what I want to do….so tough to put away all the things we have to do on those days off….but sometimes so worth it! Great Slice!

Leave a Reply

