First Mother’s Day

Dear Blake,

Sunday was Mother’s Day…my first real Mother’s Day.  Last year on Mother’s Day I was almost a Mom.  This year, I am proud to call you my son.  I am proud to be your Mommy!  Being a Mom is the single most rewarding thing I’ve ever experienced in my life.  It’s also the hardest thing I’ve ever done…harder than running a marathon, or going through labor.  Being a Mom means you might laugh, cry, and want to pull your hair out all on the same day.  Being a Mom means you hardly have 1 minute alone to go to the bathroom without someone screaming for you.  Being a Mom means you have to learn to forget about all the other unimportant things that used to be important because now you have someone who needs you all the time.  Being a Mom means playing the same game over and over again or reading the same book over and over again, because once is never enough.  Being a Mom means being silly and making someone laugh and not caring who thinks you’re crazy.  Being a Mom means comforting someone when they are hurt or crying (which happens all the time.)  Being a Mom means thinking about someone while you are at work and rushing home to be with them.  Being a Mom means being a constant entertainer.  Being a Mom means you have the best job in the whole world. 

I am proud to be your Mommy.

Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

