Religion

Dear Blake,

There is a new series on the History channel called The Bible.  I find myself to be captivated by this and keep watching.  Your Dad and Grandpa watch too.  Growing up I was a very relgious person and was involved in every aspect of church that you could be.  I was in choir, a eucharistic minister, litergical dancer, and a scripture reader.  I was extremely involved in the youth group and on Sundays I would go to church twice, once with my family and once to the teen mass. 

Fast forward to the present, and I became one of those “C and E” catholics that only go to church on Christmas and Easter.  Lately I have been thinking that I want to start bringing you to church every Sunday to sit with your Grandma and Grandpa as a family and giving you the opportunity to have some faith.  It will also allow me to start renewing my faith.  We will start next week on Easter!

Love,

Mommy

6 thoughts on “Religion

  1. This is an example of the lessons our chinldren indirectly teach us.. They show us- highlight- what’s really important in our lives. They remind us of what we value. I think it’s beautiful and I can relate… My son brought me back to church regularly bc I wanted to have him experience the same. 🙂

  2. I think it is great that you are going to start bringing Blake. I want to take JP but get nervous he won’t behave. But then I think, all are welcome right 🙂 I love how you say you want to take him and have him with grandma and grandpa. That part was really touching to me. Such a great feeling to experience with your family.

  3. This is great, Erin. I love that you reflect on your past and use your reflection to make some decisions for the benefit of Blake. I echo Brighid’s comment – it’s one of the great parts of parenting.

  4. I think God is speaking to you through your son. He is calling you back to him through your love for Blake and your desire to bring him up in the faith.

    When my kids were small, that same desire brought me back to church after many years away and on my own.

    It was the single best decision I ever made as a parent. They are young adults now, and I am amazed at how he has worked in their lives and how their faith has grounded them in ways many young people lack today.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

