A good nights rest (for me)

Dear Blake,

My story continues here in the place where it all started…the hospital.  I arrived by ambulance by myself and was put in a small emergency with people coming in and out, none of which were my family.  I waiting for a long time until a doctor finally saw me.  My Mom showed up and sat with me until your Dad showed up.  Grandpa Lia was at our house watching you so Daddy could be with me.  The emergency room doctor called my doctor and told her what happened and said I was bleeding pretty significantly.  The emergency room doctor told me that I was ok enough to go home and that they would give me some pills to stop the bleeding.  I did not understand how I was to go home when I was gushing blood but I guess they didn’t care about that. 

I went home and my parents stayed for a while to help take care of you.  As my Mom was leaving to go home I decided to see if the bleeding was stopping and as she was about to walk out the door I was screaming from the bathroom again that it was just as bad and that I was scared for my life.  I called my doctor and she told me to go back to the hospital right away and she would meet me there.  She was going to do a small surgery on me. 

Daddy took me back to the hospital again and Grandma Lia stayed with you.  As we got to the ER and waited in the waiting area I remember never being so scared in my life as I was at that moment.  I was physically shaking.  I just wanted to be ok so that I could finally go home and be with you.  The doctor arrived and told me that she would take care of me and we would get this straightened out.  Daddy waited in the waiting room and by the time the surgery was over it was about 11:00 pm.  I was to spend the night and Daddy went home to take care of you so Grandma could go home. 

Your Daddy is a wonderful man.  I got the room all to myself to recover for the night and Daddy went home to you and he knew he would not get much sleep.  You were only a week old and waking up every 2 hours.  Poor Daddy got home late and wished for more than a few hours sleep.  I think you knew what Daddy’s wish was because you gave him more than 2 hours of rest.  You slept for a while but I got a great nights rest.  I was able to come home fresh the next morning when you and Daddy arrived at the hospital to take me home.  It was terrifying and rejuvenating all at the same time.  I was just glad to be back home with my son.

Love,

Mommy

2 thoughts on “A good nights rest (for me)

Leave a Reply

