I think it’s time

Dear Blake,

I’ve never been such a mix of emotions than I was the day you were born.  I woke up around 5:30 on a Sunday morning (the first night of not being able to sleep in anymore.)  I had some pains in my stomach area and wasn’t sure so I went downstairs to lay on the couch while I let Daddy sleep.  I knew that if this was it, I wanted someone to be able to get more sleep.  I had downloaded this nifty little contraction timer app on my phone and was ready to use it!  I couldn’t quite use it correctly because the contractions were coming irregularly.  Then finally after sitting there for hours, I started having really bad pain and I decided to try to go upstairs and wake up your Dad.  As I was climbing the stairs I got a contraction and had to stop in the middle of the stairs and yell for your Dad.  He woke up and I said “I think it’s time.”  Those wonderful words that wives tell their husbands when they just know that it’s time to go to the hospital to have the baby.  Your father said that I should call the doctor so I did while he jumped in the shower.  I called but since it was a Sunday morning, the doctor was on call and the operator had to page the doctor and said she would call me back.  I waited and waited and she did not call back.  So your Dad said we should just leave and head up to the hospital anyway while we wait for her to call back.  As we were on the way your Dad asked if I thought we would have enough for him to drive through and get some breakfast somewhere.  I said ok but I really wasn’t sure because now the contractions seemed to be coming about 1 minute apart (according to my contraction timer.) 

So now we are in the Burger King drive through as I am sitting there breathing hard and saying “I don’t know about this, I don’t know about this…”  Finally he got his food and we were on the way to the hospital. 

4 thoughts on “I think it’s time

  1. Erin, I remember that magical moment followed by a series of horrific events! I think you just inspired me to remember that night and write about it too. I like this post! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks so much for sharing. I am grinning from ear to ear as I remember my two moments. With my son, I got into the tub, took a bath, polished my nails and tried to do my hair. I was about to be ‘on stage’ and wanted to look my best. My daughter on the other hand, was almost born on the living room couch as I watched some movie on television.

    Your story was so cute. I love the picture on this page!!! And if the baby had been born in the drive-thru what in the world would they have done. Thanks for bringing back these memories.

  3. Fun! I love the whole concept of your blog. I don’t have children, but I have seriously considered starting a blog for my unborn children, so they can read about my life pre-kids, because I so wish I had written accounts of my grandparents’ and parents’ histories. Then, I always wonder if it would be weird, so I just never jump in. I might have to afterall. And, as a non-parent, I marvel at the number of daddies that think food is a MUST on the way to the hospital! 🙂

Leave a Reply

