Girl or boy?

Dear Blake,

I want to tell you about the day we found out we were going to have a BOY!  Daddy and I simply could not wait to find out whether we were having a boy or a girl!  Those people who wait to find out until the day of, are very patient people because we wanted to find out the first opportunity that we could.  We went to this little place in Frankfort called “The Belly Factory.”  The lady there was taking pictures of Mommy’s belly and trying to see whether you were a boy or a girl.  She asked me if I had any ideas of what I thought it might be.  I said that I had two dreams that it was a boy and everytime I thought about the baby I felt like it was a boy.  She said “Well…you are RIGHT!”  Daddy and I both started crying and I could tell Daddy was so happy because he was going to have that boy that he always dreamed about having.  Either way, we would be so happy and excited and love you just the same.  But I could tell what Daddy was thinking about.  He was already picturing the two of you playing catch in the backyard and taking you to sports games and watching them on TV.  

Growing up it was always girls in my family.  Your Auntie Stephie and Aunt Christine and I.  We even had a girl dog named Taffy!  We never knew what it was like to have a brother.  When I found out we were having a boy I was so happy but also nervous because I never had the experience of growing up with a boy around. 

You are 9 months old now and I think back to that day because I never thought I could love someone so much the way I love you now.  You are the best little boy around!  You are so smart and funny and make your father and I very happy. 

I love you,

Mom

11 thoughts on “Girl or boy?

  1. What a beautiful letter to your son.

    We didn’t wait for the birth either. I needed to know who was inside me as soon as I could. And you know what? It was a huge surprise since I was convinced I was having a boy (’til I found out I was carrying a girl).

  2. I love your idea of having a blog to write letters to your son. What a great way to document a series of moments for him, and I am sure that you will enjoy revisiting them from time to time.

  3. I love this idea for a blog. I hope this will serve as a great connection for you and your son as he gets older. I love your cover picture too!

  4. What a beautiful letter to your son. I had tears in my eyes as I read it. I am a Grandma. Both of my daughters-in-law are due to have babies in the next six weeks (one a girl and one a boy.) I am going to suggest they write a letter like your to their soon to be born child.

  5. Can you imagine it any other way now?? I thought Maddie was going to be a boy, and looking back, I feel like “how could I have ever thought that? of course, it had to be a Maddie.” 🙂

  6. They didn’t find out the sex of babies when I was pregnant, but I dreamed that my first child was a boy. When he was born, the midwife exclaimed “It’s a boy!” And all I said was, “I know.” I dreamed that our second child was a girl. When she came out, my response was “Hannah’s here!” My daughter correctly dreamed about her son, too! Amazing, isn’t it? Blake is going to like reading these later. Maybe make them into a physical book for him someday.

Leave a Reply

